Marauder Project – Hammer Spring   Leave a comment

Greetings All,

A few weeks ago I wanted to see if I could get the hammer spring adjustment to quit moving. I decided to disassemble the end and see how thing were put together. The goal was to see how the hammer spring adjustment is in and how I could add some penetrating threadlocker (low strength) to keep the hammer spring in place. Well, I have found this is something you probably do not want to do. So I share the pictures and information as a lesson learned for me.

Lessons Learned from this experience:

1. To use threadlocking compound, do not take off the back, back out the screw, and put it all back together. It will not work. (I did not do this but you will see what I mean).
2. It took about two days of tinkering to get the .22 back to where I wanted it.
3. If the hammer stroke screw needs to have thread locker on it also, the hammer spring screw should be set first.

Okay, on with the pictures. 🙂

To begin I took the action out of the stock and removed the scope. Next, I removed the screw shown in the picture. I need to remove the bolt to get to the screw underneath the bolt.

Removing Screw: note the orange threadlocker on the screw.

Next, the bolt needs to be removed. I removed the side allen bolt.

With the top screw out and the allen screw removed (careful, there is a spacer on the allen screw), the bolt slides right out.

Next, the allen screw in bottom of the breach hole need to be removed. You can see the allen screw inside the hole in this picture.

With the top screw removed, I began to remove the bottom screw.

I could tell there was some pressure on this screw so I held on the back of the action with one hand and removed the screw with the other. I then turned the action up so the bottom was on the desk. I then slowly raised up the action revealing the spring that was pressing out.

Once the spring was out, I set it aside and took a look at the hammer spring screw adjustment. Here is a picture for reference.

Based on feel, I could tell the screw is sitting kind of loose in where it is threaded into.  Of course in removing the screw this way has messed up all my previous settings.
NOTE: the hammer stroke did not come out because I did not cock the gun before I removed the bolt. So it remained inside when I turned it upside-down.

To give you and idea of how far out the spring is pushing, I took the following shot. I am only holding the end for balance. This the how far out the spring is extending past the end.

Now that I know what it looks like, I should be able to just add a drop in from the rear port.

In order to get the .22 shooting where I wanted it again, it took two days of fiddling with the settings on and off. It seems in doing the process above it, of course, releases the tension on the hammer stroke screw. The in turn changed its settings. So both settings adjustments where all out of whack. After resetting everything back to zero (counter-clockwise) and then reviewing my old tuning post, I got the .22 back where I wanted it.

Locking the settings:
What I tried (and it did not work) was to put a “half drop” into the place. To do this, I took a paper plate and a toothpick. I broke the toothpick in half. I put a drop of the Permatex green penetrating threadlocker onto the plate. I then “scooped” up most of the drop. Some soaked into the wood. I put what was on the toothpick  into the opening against the hammer spring screw. I let the rifle sit for a few days and checked to see if I could input an Allen wrench and make an adjustment. The wrench turned, so that did not work.

Next Step:
Once I have some more time, I plan to try to just put one drop in the hammer spring screw area and see what happens.

Until then, have fun shooting

-Jeff

Posted July 13, 2010 by avv604 in Airguns, Marauder

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

